h1

Twenty Toes, Two Opinions Review #3

July 7, 2008

The time has come for another pedicure and another review.  This week Tracey and I chose The Salon Professional Academy in Shorewood, IL. We chose this because we received a coupon in our local mailer for a mani/pedi for $24.  What a great deal!  We had a 6:30 appointment time, which Tracey was whisked away promptly, yet they had a problem with my appointment.  It seems even though Tracey made our appointments at the same time, I was somehow scheduled on Saturday.  While I waited I looked at the polish color choices, and was again disappointed that there was no bright green or turquoise polish.  I chose gold, and Tracey went with purple.  I was then introduced to my pedicurist for the evening, Brandy.  Brandy took the time to pedicure my feet the way they should be pedicured.  We had a wonderful conversation of what a pedicure should and should not involve. 1. A pedicure should not involve a dremmel being used on a natural nail, as it was used on Tracey’s toes at the last place. 2. A pedicure should not involve shaving down the callouses on your feet. Brandy did notice how the bottom of my big toes now looked like a cheese grater. Using a razor can actually make the callouses worse.  Although another girl did confess to having one at home and using it, she would never use one in the business.  I think we have all tried to shave down the callouses, but it should not be done in a salon.  3. You should not have your cuticles cut, rather they should be pushed back.  Brandy spent a lot of time correctly pedicuring my feet and today they feel baby soft. Well as soft as MY feet can feel.  This morning I have a better look at my polish application and notice it is not the best, and my manicure is already chipping.  Although that is okay because I feel my feet are in definite better condition.  I am not a believer in manicures because my hands take such a beating, constantly being in water, cleaning, etc. but it was $24 so am not going to complain.  These people have to go through basic training which includes every aspect of the salon. Most want to be hair stylists, and I find it absolutely awesome that these girls took the time to do a great pedicure. 

While we were there, I took a liking to Brandy (can you tell?)  So I recruited Tracey to get a color and cut with Brandy next week and I am going the following week.  So I have wanted pink highlights in my hair for quite some time.  Although Tracey is all for it, my daughter thinks I am too old unless I let her get highlights then she is all for it!  My husband rolls his eyes and asks ‘how old are you?’ I guess I have to think this one through.  I will at least go for a cut. I have faith in the Salon Professional Acedemy and Brandy.  I cannot wait to see Tracey’s hair next week! I mean come on you cannot beat the prices. Haircuts start at $9, kid’s cut is $5, highlights are $29, per foil is $3.  So why not, we will give it a try. Last time I went for a cut at a high end place and spent $50 for a cut which I came home and further cut my hair. 

As for the pedicure, I give the actual pedicure a 10 unpainted toes, the polish application a 6 painted toes. I am still on the watch for a nice bright green or turquoise for my toes!

Overall, the Salon Professional Acedemy was clean, everyone seemed really friendly, and everyone had really cute hair styles which I love to see when I walk in!

Leave a comment